Fried grated spuds

 
The potato is my favourite carb, hands down. As I can't even eat normal bread or pasta it makes it even easier for me to choose spuds with my food. To quote Samwise Gamgi from Lord of the Rings: "Boil 'em, mash 'em, stick 'em in a stew.". And that's not even the limit. A life without potatoes is to me, a boring life. Sorry, I know lots of you can manage without but I just love them. It's like a life without sweets or alcohol to others.
 
These are Swedish for all I know. We call them "rårakor" or "rösti" and serve them with chopped red onion and caviar. I prefer my version. 
 
Ingredients:
2 potatoes
Salt and black pepper
Butter or coconut oil to fry in
 
A few spoons of cottage cheese
4 cm leek
2 slice of paprika
2 slices of ham
2 asparagus stalks
 
 
How to:
Grate your potato and sqeeze out all of the liquid.
Season with salt and pepper.
Heat a pan on medium heat and let the cooking fat melt.
Add the potato - either several small "cakes" or two big ones like omelettes.
Flatten the potato out in the pan but make sure it sticks together.
When golden, turn and fry on the other side until done.
 
For the cottage cheese mixture;
snap off the asparagus stalks where they bend off naturally. Cut into pieces.
Cut the paprika, leek and ham into the size of your liking.
Mix all the ingredients with cottage cheese.
 
Serve your fried grated potato with a big spoonful of cottage cheese mixture.
 
ENJOY!

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0