Hot chilli con carne

 
Howdy! When I hear Chilli con Carne I think of the wild west and cowboys. It's just a fixed image in my head. The best chilli I ever ate was one that an ex-boyfriend's mother made years ago when we were going up north snowboarding. I made my mind up and wrote to her the other day and she gave me her recipe. I combined it with one of Jamie Oliver's and I think I've come up with an amazing combination. Ready for it?
 
Ingredients:
 3 red onions (I will probably use yellow ones next time)
2 red paprikas
1 tin of Cannellini beans
1 tin of Kidney beans
1 tin of baked beans
2 cloves of garlic
~ 600 g beef mince
2 small hot chilis (de-seed if needed)
2 tins of crushed tomatoes (800g)
1 tin of water
2 tblsp balsamic vinegar
Salt, black pepper, cinnamon, cayenne pepper and caraway.
1 small bunch of cilantro coriander
1 tblsp BBQ sauce (I use Sweet Baby Ray's Barbecue Sauce)
1 tblsp ketchup
 
How to:
Chop your onion finely and your paprikas roughly.
Fry in your largest casserole pan in a few lugs of oil for approximately 7 minutes until soft, stir randomly.
Season with 1 teaspoon of salt, pepper, caraway, cinnamon and cayenne pepper.
Add your beans, crushed tomatoes and water.
Crush your garlic and add your chopped coriander and de-seeded and finely chopped chilis.
Also add your balsamic vinegar.
Let simmer for 10 minutes.
 
Fry your mince in a seperate pan (or pour your contents into a saucepan and use the same frying pan).
Season with salt and pepper.
When done, pour into your saucepan and add your BBQ sauce and ketchup.
Taste and season if needed.
Let simmer for 15 minutes and stir occasionally.
 
Serve hot with sides such as coleslaw, rice, baked potato, bread and/or a crispy green salad.
 
ENJOY!
 

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0